The Kubas

Stu Leatherwood - guitar/vocals
Roy Morris - guitar/vocals
Keith Ellis - bass guitar
Tony O'Riley - drums

The Kubas were a comparatively late Brian Epstein acquisition. They did a stint at the Hamburg Star Club after the Beatles, and appeared in 'Ferry Cross the Mersey'. They also made a good impression (having changed their name to the Koobas) on the Beatles' tour in the winter of 1965; they thus satisfied virtually all the conditions for Merseybeat success - except a hit record.

Following the release of their album, ‘The Koobas’, in 1968 and appearing as support group on the ‘Jimmy Hendrix Experience’ tour, they disbanded.


  • Feb 1965   I love her / Magic Potion
  • Dec 1965   Take me for a little while / Somewhere in the night (The Koobas)
  • Apr 1966   You'd Better Make Up Your Mind / A Place I Know  (The Koobas)
  • Aug 1966   Sweet Music / Face   (The Koobas)
  •       1967   Sally / Champagne And Caviar
  •       1967   Gypsy Fred / City Girl
  •       1968   The First Cut Is The Deepest / Walking Out


  • 1968    The Kubas