The Cryin' Shames

Charlie Crane - vocals
Joey Kneen - vocals
John Bennett/Ritchie Routledge - guitar
Phil Roberts - keyboards
George Robinson - bass guitar
Charlie Gallagher - drums

Formed in Liverpool during the latter part of 1963, they were originally called The Bumblies - a name they took from a children's television series presented by Michael Bentine. The early line-up of the group included Norris, singers Joey Kneen and John Bain, guitarist John Bennett and Charlie Gallagher on drums. They earned themselves a good reputation around the clubs and dance halls of Merseyside and became part of Brian Epstein's NEMS stable. By 1965 the group had become one of the most popular unsigned acts in the area.

Late in '65, they were signed by Decca and placed under the wing of the legendary producer Joe Meek. By this time, Meek's great days were behind him, but he was confident that The Cryin' Shames would make it to the top.

Their first record was a beautiful version of The Drifters' ballad "Please Stay", which surprisingly only reached #26 in the charts. The follow-up, another strong Meek production, missed entirely.

After this release they changed their name to Paul & Ritchie & The Cryin' Shames to avoid confusion with a similarly-named American band, The Cryan Shames. One further single was released before they vanished into obscurity.

  • feb 1966   Please Stay/What's New Pussycat     26
  • jun 1966   Nobody Waved Goodbye/You
  •      1966  September In The Rain/Come On Back
          (as Paul & Ritchie & The Cryin' Shames)