The Chants

Eddie Amoo - vocals
Eddie Ankrah - vocals
Joe Ankrah - vocals
Alan Fielding - vocals
Nat Smedo - vocals

Photo: Copyright Bill Harry

The Chants were a black vocal group whose arrangements were not typically Merseybeat,
but who had a fine style owing quite a bit to American groups of the Fifties such as the Ravens and the Flamingos.

Lead singer Eddie Amoo was an effective performer and the group made an impact on several nationwide tours. They were originally signed to Pye, but changed record companies twice during their long career. None of the Chants' singles sold particularly well, but these were among their best:


  • 1963   I Don't Care/Come Go With Me
  • 1964   I Could Write A Book/A Thousand Stars
  • 1964   She's Mine/Then I'll Be Home
  • 1964   Sweet Was The Wine/One Star
  • 1966   Come Back And Get This Loving Baby/Lovelight
  • 1967   A Love's Story/Wearing A Smile
  • 1967   Ain't Nobody Home/For You
  • 1968   A Man Without A Face/Baby I Don't Heed Your Love
  • 1969   I Get The Sweetest Feeling/Candy